DAVID WATKINS STAFF DIRECTOR

ROB BISHOP OF UTAH RANKING REPUBLICAN

PARISH BRADEN REPUBLICAN STAFF DIRECTOR

U.S. House of Representatives

Committee on Natural Resources Washington, DC 20515

June 22, 2020

The Hon. Bruce Westerman Member of Congress 209 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representative Westerman:

While I disagree with the conclusions you reach in your letter of June 16, I appreciate the seriousness of your inquiry.

Ranking Member Bishop raised similar concerns in a letter dated April 30. My response ended with the following points, which still stand:

There is nothing inappropriate or even unusual about the events we have held and will continue holding. Roundtable discussions, virtual or not, provide a critical platform for highlighting important issues. As always, some of these will be bipartisan and some will not.

Members of our committee convened public roundtable discussions and forums prior to the COVID-19 outbreak and will continue to do so. As we have noted on several occasions, the Minority is free to do the same.

The concern that members of the public are confused by our website, YouTube channel, Twitter account, or Facebook page is unfounded. The specific events you mention are clearly and consistently labelled "NRDems Forums" on the website. Our YouTube channel (<u>https://www.youtube.com/user/NaturalResourcesDems</u>), Twitter account (@NRDems), and Facebook page (facebook.com/NRDems) all have "Dems" in the address, leaving no room for confusion. This is in contrast to the minority Twitter handle, which is @NatResources. We raised concerns at the start of this Congress that this handle was potentially confusing, but Ranking Member Bishop declined to address those concerns.

Your letter goes on to allege that, "Minority members and staff have not been given the opportunity to participate in the planning or execution of these meetings, much less offer a witness or prepare members." That is false. The Minority was invited to participate in several of the forums we have arranged, including important discussions on the impacts of COVID-19 on commercial fishing, the federal response to wildfire, and the opportunities to create jobs by properly reclaiming orphaned wells. Those invitations were rejected in the strongest possible terms.

Committee Rule 2(c), referenced in your letter, quite plainly applies to official hearings or business meetings, not informal meetings like forums or roundtables, a distinction your letter recognizes by referring to these events as "forums" throughout. The Committee has complied with Rule 2(c) for all official meetings. The assertion that the rules somehow prevent the Chair from convening a panel discussion that is streamed to the public is without merit.

The concerns expressed in your letter would be more credible if committee Republicans had not attempted to derail official hearings as well. Every Republican participating in our June 11 hearing on the ongoing fiscal crisis in Puerto Rico voted to adjourn before allowing the witnesses to testify. It appears the minority is less concerned about the distinctions between forums and hearings, and more interested in obstructionism for its own sake.

You write that, "We have some specific recommendations that could be helpful as you assess options, if you're inclined to work together." I appreciate that offer and am open to reviewing any suggestions you or the other signatories to your letter wish to provide.

I am striving to adapt to a new world in which our Committee must find new ways to conduct all aspects of its work – both formal and informal – using modern technology. This is an effort to evolve and modernize, not trample anyone's rights, and I welcome further discussion.

Raúl M. Grijalva Chair Committee on Natural Resources

Debra Haaland Chair Subcommittee on National Parks, Forests, and Public Lands

Towen that

Alan Lowenthal Chair Subcommittee on Energy and Mineral Resources

Sincerely,

Jared Huffman Chair Subcommittee on Water, Oceans, and Wildlife

Ruben Gallego Chair Subcommittee for Indigenous Peoples of the United States

TJ Cox Chair Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan Vice Chair, Office for Insular Affairs

Nydra M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Um. Racy (

Wm. Lacy Clay Member of Congress

Matt Cartwright Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

auls tonles

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Anthony G. Brown Member of Congress

Wille Len

Mike Levin Member of Congress

2 Dollate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Lase

Ed Case Member of Congress

esus HE

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

A. Donald M'Eachin

A. Donald McEachin Member of Congress

vanishin

Joe Cunningham Member of Congress

Debbie Dinjel

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

pres + napelitan

Grace Napolitano Member of Congress

Michael F.Q. San Nicolas

Member of Congress

Joelley

Joe Neguse Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress