ROB BISHOP OF UTAH CHAIRMAN

CODY STEWART STAFF DIRECTOR

RAÚL GRIJALVA OF ARIZONA RANKING MEMBER

DAVID WATKINS DEMOCRATIC STAFF DIRECTOR

U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Natural Resources

Washington, DC 20515

October 12, 2017

The Honorable Paul Ryan Speaker of the House H-232, United States Capitol U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Rob Bishop Chairman Committee on Natural Resources 1324 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Mac Thornberry Chairman Committee on Armed Services 2216 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Kevin Brady Chairman Committee on Ways and Means 1102 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Trey Gowdy Chairman Committee on Oversight and Government Reform 2157 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Ed Royce Chairman Committee on Foreign Affairs 2170 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Bill Shuster Chairman Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure 2165 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Speaker Ryan and Chairmen:

We write to request that H.R. 3548, the Border Security for America Act of 2017, not proceed to the House floor until the committees of jurisdiction consider this measure through regular order.

We ask each Committee Chairman to assert his jurisdictional claim over the bill.

As Homeland Security Committee Ranking Member Bennie G. Thompson aptly stated, H.R. 3548 is "a misguided, unnecessary, fiscally-irresponsible measure to formally authorize President Trump's Wall at all costs." Accordingly, we respectfully request that each Committee mark up this legislation and be given an opportunity to thoroughly examine and discuss provisions within our purview.

We stand ready to work with you to schedule our respective markups and look forward to receiving your responses.

Sincerely Raúl M. Grijalva

Ranking Member Committee on Natural Resources



Ranking Member Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure

Elijah E. Cummings

Ranking Member Committee on Oversight and Government Reform Oler South

Adam Smith Ranking Member Committee on Armed Services

Richard E. Neal Ranking Member Committee on Ways and Means

holl. Engel

Eliot L. Engel Ranking Member Committee on Foreign Affairs