RAÚL M. GRIJALVA OF ARIZONA

DAVID WATKINS STAFF DIRECTOR

U.S. House of Representatives

BRUCE WESTERMAN OF ARKANSAS RANKING REPUBLICAN

> VIVIAN MOEGLEIN REPUBLICAN STAFF DIRECTOR

Committee on Natural Resources Washington, DC 20515

November 21, 2022

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker U.S. House of Representatives H-232, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Steny Hoyer Majority Leader U.S. House of Representatives H-107, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Majority Leader Hoyer,

As plans are finalized to advance the National Defense Authorization Act and government funding legislation in the coming weeks, I write to respectfully highlight the request in the enclosed letter to exclude harmful permitting provisions from must-pass legislation this year. Once again, I greatly appreciate your comments that House leadership never agreed to include permitting legislation in any specific legislative vehicle, including must-pass government funding legislation, and thank you for your committed and ongoing leadership.

Sincerely, Paul W. Spale

Raúl M. Grijalva Chair Committee on Natural Resources

cc: The Honorable James E. Clyburn, U.S. House Majority Whip The Honorable Hakeem S. Jeffries, U.S. House Democratic Caucus Chair DAVID WATKINS STAFF DIRECTOR

U.S. House of Representatives

BRUCE WESTERMAN OF ARKANSAS RANKING REPUBLICAN

> VIVIAN MOEGLEIN REPUBLICAN STAFF DIRECTOR

Committee on Natural Resources Washington, DC 20515

September 12, 2022

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker U.S. House of Representatives H-232, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Steny Hoyer Majority Leader U.S. House of Representatives H-107, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leader Hoyer:

The permitting and public notice and comment provisions mandated by the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) are among the only tools local communities have to force careful review of federal projects that may have serious, long-term, environmental, and public health consequences in those communities. Congress should continue to provide increased funding to assist federal agencies in completing the NEPA process but *attempts to short-circuit or undermine the law in the name of "reform" must be opposed.*

According to media reports, there is agreement to advance a series of anti-environmental and antienvironmental justice provisions through the House, at the behest of the American Petroleum Institute (API). These destructive provisions will allow polluting manufacturing and energy development projects to be rushed through before the families who are forced to live near them are even aware of the plans.

The proposed legislation would restrict public access to the courts to seek remedies against illegal project development; place arbitrary limits on the amount of time the public is given to comment on polluting projects; and curtail public input, environmental review, and government accountability. Additionally, the API plan would require a certain number of harmful fossil fuel projects to be designated as "projects of strategic national importance" to receive priority federal support, assistance, and expedited environmental review. These permitting "reforms" would weaken other important public health protections, including the Clean Water Act and more.

We remain deeply concerned that these serious and detrimental permitting provisions will significantly and disproportionately impact low-income communities, indigenous communities, and communities of color. The inclusion of these provisions in a continuing resolution, or any other must-pass legislation, would silence the voices of frontline and environmental justice communities by insulating them from scrutiny. Such a move would force Members to choose between protecting EJ communities from further pollution or funding the government.

We urge you to ensure that these provisions are kept out of a continuing resolution or any other must-pass legislation this year.

Sincerely,

Raúl M. Grijalva Chair House Committee on Natural Resources

an Lowenthal

Alan Lowenthal Chair Subcommittee on Energy and Mineral Resources

Kotio Portos

Katie Porter Chair Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations

Ed Lase

Ed Case Member of Congress

napilitan

Grace Napolitano Member of Congress

Melanie A. Stansbury Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Chair Subcommittee on Water, Oceans, and Wildlife

Joe Neguse Chair Subcommittee on National Parks, Forests, and Public Lands

Donald M'Eachin

A. Donald McEachin Member of Congress

Nydia Velázquez Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

lach

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

esus & Gamo

esús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

men Art

Darren Soto Member of Congress

apa. Michael F. $\mathbf{\Phi}$. San Nicolas

Michael F. Q. San Nicola Member of Congress

Carolyn B. Malore

Carolyn B. Maloney Member of Congress

Mark Takano Member of Congress

/s/ Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

the

John Yarmuth Member of Congress

shalondy

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

ano H. Noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress

Lihli

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan Member of Congress

enoch Hadlen

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

ine Waters

Maxine Waters Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Semie M

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

JACK

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

tan Z

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Gerald "Jerry" McNerney) Member of Congress

Grace Meng Member of Congress

have

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Vette D. Clarke Member of Congress

painte

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Madelune Stear

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

1 ony Cardenas

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Luville Raybal allard

Lucille Roybal-Allard Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

gum S. tusof

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Nanete Diag Barragan

Nanette Díaz Barragán Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Carny d. Danies

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

& an

Alma Adams Member of Congress

Terald C. Jannoll

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

1 Wilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Jul N. Culli

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Karen Bass Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Bonnie Watser Coleman

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Andrew "Andy" Levin Member of Congress

Dean Phillips Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Cori Bush Member of Congress

fason Crow Member of Congress

en

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

1AAD hut Kod

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

artell VC INN

Shontel Brown Member of Congress

N

⁴ Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Gwen Moore Member of Congress

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

anchin ens

Mondaire Jones // Member of Congress

May La Scanlan

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

ied)

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

/s/ André Carson Member of Congress

/s/ Hank Johnson Member of Congress

un_

Anthony G. Brown Member of Congress

David Trone Member of Congress

/s/ John Sarbanes Member of Congress

Jed W. Lien

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Strypul AD grenberge

Abigail Spanberger Member of Congress

Ulue

Jackie Speier Member of Congress