MEDIA ADVISORY: Leader Hoyer and Members of Congress to Hold Press Conference on Puerto Rico Status Act

Washington, D.C.Today, May 19, 2022, at 12:00 p.m. Eastern time, U.S. House Majority Leader Steny H. Hoyer (D-Md.), Natural Resources Committee Chair Raúl M. Grijalva, Small Business Committee Chair Nydia M. Velázquez (D-N.Y.), Rep. Darren Soto (D-Fla.), Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-N.Y.), Resident Commissioner Jenniffer González-Colón (R-Puerto Rico), and Governor of Puerto Rico Pedro R. Pierluisi will hold a press conference to announce details of the Puerto Rico Status Act that will allow the people of Puerto Rico to determine their political future.

For those who cannot attend in person, the press conference will be livestreamed here.



Press Conference on the Puerto Rico Status Act


HVC Studio A (Enter through HVC-117), Capitol Visitor Center, The U.S. Capitol, Washington, D.C.



Thursday, May 19, 2022, at 12:00 p.m. EDT




Majority Leader Steny H. Hoyer

5th District of Maryland


Chair Raúl M. Grijalva

3rd District of Arizona


Chair Nydia M. Velázquez

7th District of New York


Rep. Darren Soto

9th District of Florida


Rep. Jenniffer González-Colón

Puerto Rico, At Large


Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez

14th District of New York


The Honorable Pedro R. Pierluisi

Governor of Puerto Rico


Press Contact

Media Contact: Lindsay Gressard

(202) 225-6065 or (202) 740-4715 mobile