Additional Members Sign Letter to President Biden, Democratic Leadership Opposing Environmental Rollbacks in Must-Pass Legislation, Totaling 83

Washington, D.C. – Following requests from additional members to sign on, House Natural Resources Committee Ranking Member Raúl M. Grijalva (D-Ariz.) today sent an updated letter to President Joe Biden, House Minority Leader Hakeem Jeffries (D-N.Y.), and Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.) urging them to oppose environmental rollbacks—misleadingly called “permitting reform”—in any must-pass legislation. The updated letter is signed by a total of 83 House Democrats, including 12 committee ranking members.

CLICK HERE for the full updated letter.

On sending the updated letter, Ranking Member Grijalva said, “The growing list of my Democratic colleagues and I couldn’t be more clear: Our environment and health are not the GOP’s bargaining chips. Gutting our bedrock environmental laws isn’t permitting reform—it’s a polluter payout. Speaker McCarthy and his extremist faction need to end this reckless scheme to force their MAGA-manufactured, polluters-over-people agenda on the American people now.”

Co-leads on the letter include Reps. Jared Huffman (D-Calif.), Debbie Dingell (D-Mich.), Paul Tonko (D-N.Y.), Mike Levin (D-Calif.), Sean Casten (D-Ill.), Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-N.Y.), Melanie Stansbury (D-N.M.), Barbara Lee (D-Calif.), Pramila Jayapal (D-Wash.), Teresa Leger Fernandez (D-N.M.), and Sydney Kamlager-Dove (D-Calif.).

CLICK HERE for the press release on the original letter that was sent last Friday, May 19.  

Press Contact

Lindsay Gressard